Police scanner

I was determined today to start listening to the Washtenaw County Sheriff’s Office police scanner feed again. I’ve previously listened to it here and there, but New Hearld’s Online Coordinator Joe Gray reminded me yesterday of all the stories that can be found listening to the scanner.

I went to my usual website choice, www.radioreference.com, to tune in. Unfortunately, the site wasn’t working, so I found a backup, www.tunein.com. I also have a scanner application on my phone.

In the past, I’ve really liked using Radio Reference because it allows listeners to participate in a chat function on the feed’s page. For larger events, it’s convenient to readprevious comments and get further tips from other listeners.

My work paid off today. I was able to get the scoop on a rollover accident on US-23 and Washtenaw, something we normally wouldn’t have learned about until later, if at all.

If you’re curious about police activity near you, or just want to see what’s going on in your neighborhood, listening to the scanner can be a great resource.

Leave a Reply

