4-by-4 plan

During my time in the Community Media Lab today, I researched the new 4-by-4 plan recently released by the Michigan Department of Community Health to prevent and reduce obesity rates. I’ve learned of some pretty shocking statistics that I am going to include in my upcoming article.

As part of the plan, health officials are encouraging Michigan residents to have their Body Mass Index checked. A healthy range is between 18.5 and 24.9, 25 -29.9 is overweight and over 30 is obese.

I’m curious, has anyone ever had their BMI checked? If so, would you like to share any information regarding the result? Were you in a healthy range? If not, are you using the results to refine your lifestyle?

One thought on “4-by-4 plan

  1. Yes I have had my BMI checked. Two years ago, I had a BMI of almost 40. That number doesn’t even show up on most BMI charts. I was almost what my doctors referred to as Morbidly Obese. My insurance carrier at the time, Blue Care Network, sent me a letter saying they would pay for me to join a program/study at UofM (http://www.med.umich.edu/intmed/endocrinology/weightmanagement/index.htm). The program was nothing fancy or magical, but it did help me put into practice all that I already knew about losing weight. It all boiled down to “eat less calories than I burn”. That’s an over simplification but the truth. The program at UofM was not a quick fix but an enabler to my weight loss. I have lost over 90 pounds and my BMI is 27. Yeah me!!!

Leave a Reply

