Wednesday afternoons at Community Media Lab

This is Ben Baird, police and court reporter for Heritage Media, and I was at the Community Media Lab this afternoon. I learned a barn fire had occurred in Lima Township near Dexter shortly after I arrived, and I spent time contacting fire officials and updating the story online. It was a pretty serious fire. I was also working on a story related to National Child Abuse Prevention Month.

I will be at the Community Media Lab on Wednesday afternoons from 12:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. and I’ll do what I can to help anyone who wants to drop by. I can help with starting a blog in Blogger or WordPress.com, talk about how to structure a story using inverted pyramid format, use some digital tools, or examine writing when it comes to use of AP style. I’m relatively new to editing video, but it’s something I enjoy and have been able to pick up quickly using iMovie primarily.

My beat includes the local police and fire departments, the Michigan State Police, the Washtenaw County Sheriff’s Office, the county trial court, and the county’s three district courts.

Leave a Reply

